What's new

Kava newbie here. What am I doing wrong?

jmcrist

Kava Curious
Hey guys,

I'm new to kava.

My first few experiences were kind of lame to say the least. I assume this was due to reverse tolerance or user error on my part.

My wife and I have tried instant kava, and single cup servings (2 tbsp dried kava per 12 oz. water) around 4 or 5 times.

Each time we couldn't really feel the effects.

Disappointed, I started doing some Googling and found the following thread: http://kavaforums.com/forum/threads/ctahr-extraction-method.5686/.

I used this method to brew up about 4 cups.

I blended 1 cup Waka root (from Bulakava) kava with 4 cups hot water in our blentec strained/kneaded for 3 different cycles. I used a strainer similar to cheesecloth (hardly any kava particles in the water).

It tasted like a bowl of mud, btw :)

My wife and I drank around 12 oz - 16 oz... And we could feel ... Something.

It was a mellow feeling, but not very strong. It was almost hard to tell if it was the kava or if we were making it up.

So, I guess my questions are...

Are the effects of kava so mild that it's hard to notice?

Am I doing something wrong?

Can I do something to make the effects stronger?

As it stands, I'm going to mix up another batch tonight and I really want it to be a success!

Thanks!

Kojo Douglas

The Kavasseur
I would recommend making it by hand rather than blending it. That might just be personal preference though. I feel like I can taste the difference between a Kava made in a blender and a Kava squeezed by hand.

Kava often has a very underwhelming first impression. It is one of the curses and blessings for Kavasseurs, because it means less demand and a better supply for us (Kava is very much a finite product as it is grown sporadically in small island nations [and Hawaii]).