What's new

Kava with Massage Therapy and Yoga

Shiny

Hello everyone,

I’m new to kava and new here to the tribe.

I tried doing searches on massage and kava, but kept coming up with topics concerning the traditional preparation techniques, so here goes my first newbie post…

I’m a massage therapist and a yoga teacher. I was wondering if anyone here has tried drinking kava before receiving a massage therapy session. Seems like the relaxing effects of the kava on the mind/body/spirit would really enhance a massage therapy experience, and vice versa.

And are there any other yogis out there? How has combing kava with a yoga session felt?

Are there any varieties that you would recommend with massage therapy or yoga activities?

I’ve already ordered the sample packs from BKH and GHK and a few nylon strainer bags in the 25 and 55 and 75 micron sizes. I have a lot of experimenting to do, but wanted to say hello and ask if there are any other massage and/or yoga enthusiasts out there as well. :)

Shiny

Last edited:

Gourmet Hawaiian Kava

Kava Expert
Kava Vendor
Welcome to the forums, I do not do yoga but I have had my license in Shiatsu since 1984, I learned the Namikoshi style from the Aisen Shiatsu school in Honolulu, this school was started by a top student of the founder of this style of Shiatsu and I have also had the privilege of learning from the founders son when he came to Hawaii a few times.
Kava does help the patient to relax and you are able to get into the points easy and overall it seems to help a great deal. There are also some Massage oils with kava in it, I have never tried them but some people I know says it works. I hope this helps, please let me know if you have any other questions, aloha.

Chris

Shiny

There are also some Massage oils with kava in it, I have never tried them but some people I know says it works.
Thanks for the quick response, @Gourmet Hawaiian Kava --