What's new

New to kava need help

so I am new to kava. Tried it for the first time yesterday. I ordered some from amazon. It’s a 9% Fijian waka. Called Dua Na Bilo. Not sure of the quality as I have never taken it before. So far I have soaked it loose in water then filtered the large sediment and drank the water with the remaining powder sediment left in it. I have heated it loosely in water on a low heat for about 10 minutes but never exceeded a temp that I couldn’t put my hand in with minimal discomfort then poured it through a dress sock. This filtered out even the very small sediment. Finally I have put cool water in a bowl put the kava in a dress sock and soaked it for nearly an hour then kneeded it in the water and really squeezed out every last drop of water I could.
So far I have not felt to much as far as effectiveness. The last method seems to have worked the best as I do have some light headedness yet feel calm. I also did this last process and took it on an empty stomach. It should be noted that for each one of the first 2 methods I used 2 heaping serving spoons (soup spoons) of kava. The last method I used 3.

I have also taken a K@ that works for me with these methods.

Anyhow, my question is, without getting too technical, can someone recommend a good website, type of kava and prep process for me to try that has had good results for you? Thanks!!

The Kap'n

The Groggy Kaptain (40g)
KavaForums Founder