What's new

Kava Dosages No consistency

egriton

I've tried various vendors, preparations, and extracts.

Even if I use the same product, I don't have consistent effects.

One night it will relax me and I'll be asleep quickly, other nights I don't notice anything.

Typically, I'll have a snack around 9pm, then use the kava around midnight. Not many variables in my environment.

The only pattern I've noticed is it is more effective if a week or more goes by between use, but not effective just a few nights after prior use.

Suggestions?

Pzk

Kava Enthusiast
Regarding "daily" consumption for a longer period of time, I am also a newbie. I know kava now for a couple of years. To me the effect differs also almost every time. But in a way it is consistent if I do breaks and use it just here and there- or 2x a week.

The longer I use it the less effect it has to me. I don't see a reverse tolerance really. Sometimes the second day could be more potent than the first. But in total... I guess the brain levels out.

I guess I have now 10 days in a row, and it becomes different. It seems to level me out in a way, even "grounding". I wouldn't have thought that it seems that it has very positive effects on me in daily consumption. But the strong effect - it isn't the same. Whereas yesterday night... hard to say... really hard to say.

I also wonder if there are people for whom it is consistent.

BourbonMac

I like herbs
This is just the nature of kava, it can be different from day to day. I found extracts to be especially bad in this area. Some nights I'd feel like I was on MDMA, some nights I'd feel a mild buzz, sometimes I'd feel nothing. The MDMA feeling was from taking way, way too much of the extract though. Then I bought the same extract a 2nd time and not a single time did it do anything for me. It also just tasted awful, ultimately I never tried extracts again. I just didn't have anything to strain medium grind yet.