What's new

No longer feeling the effects of Kava.

DaveDream

I'm relatively new to Kava so I tried the much praised Malekula Magic Kava.
I experimented with two preparation methods. One using a rolling pin and ziplock bag method. And the other using a blender.
At first I felt a numb mouth but no other effect from either method (I assumed reverse tolerance).
It was not until I got to the bottom of packet and used the blender method that I noticed something. When I was on my last cup of the evening I suddenly felt heady as if drunk. I got a good nights sleep and still felt a little heady for couple of hours in the morning.
So I ordered some more Malekula Magic. I have used two packets since my heady experience and I have had no effect, not even a numb mouth.
Am I doing something wrong or should I try another brand such as the Hawaiian Nene Kava? Or could my latest batch be off?

My current method: Half a cup of Malekula Magic to three cups of water or one cup of skimmed milk and two cups of water. Blended for around five minutes. Strained through a cheese cloth. Then ready to drink or put in the fridge for an hour to make it taste better. A third of a cup drunk at a time at 20 minute intervals.

D

Deleted User01

@DaveDream, blending may not be enough. Once you finish blending, dump the grog in the strainer. Then start kneading and squeezing the holy mother loving #%## out of it. Keep wetting it in the Grog and keep squeezing and wringing. Do this for at least 5 minutes if not more. That will insure that all the Kavalactones are released. See if that helps. If it doesn't, then at least you will be in shape to compete in the World Hand Raslin' Contest. :D Honestly, that is what I do. Blend with liquid at 120 degrees and knead at the remaining temperature which I hope is around 110 degrees.

DaveDream