What's new

Question about dosages...

kavakan

Hey all, I'm a TOTAL NOOB to Kava. I mean, I used to drink it here and there with some of my Tongan buddies back in college... but never to the extent of actually feeling any effects. Anyway, I'm looking at Kava as a possible alternative to alcohol. I run a business and find myself using alcohol in the evening mostly to "wind down" before bed. I'm thinking Kava would be a great substitute for that effect without as many health side effects.

Okay, back to the point: I made my first mix tonight using about 1 tbsp of what I think is medium grain to 1 cup of water for a total of 8 cups. I'm taking it easy since I'm not familiar with the effects and, admittedly, I'm afraid of ending up sleeping on the floor because of paralysis, lol! For those of you that are daily drinkers, what is your typical mix ratio (kava to water) and how many glasses do you normally drink in a "session"??

ALL advice is appreciated. Thanks :)

Groggy

Kava aficionado
Admin
Good morning Kavakan, welcome to the forum!
Did you use a strainer for the tbs you used? Typically it is not recommended to drink medium grind without doing that, it can cause some stomach discomfort. I am sure you will get many more responses through out the day. A typical session for me is 1/3 cup of medium grind kava (6 tbs) to about 2 cups of warm water, prepared traditionally.
If you prefer to skip the traditional preparation, many vendors here offer Micronized and instant kavas which eliminate the need for traditional prep.

D

Deleted User01