What's new

Severe headache after Kava

Status
Not open for further replies.

Plantacious

Kava Enthusiast
I'm still new to Kava. Until now, I've used the same vendor and the same strain.
So I decided to try something new and use a different strain from the same vendor.
After consuming a little less than half the amount I normally take, I began to get a bad headache.
I wanted to be sure it was the kava that was causing it, so I drank a little more, and sure enough, the headache got worse, so I stopped.

Both the kava brand and kava strain are ones that are highly recommended by this forum, and of noble variety.
So I don't think quality is the issue.

One other thing of note - I consumed 380mg of caffeine, or about the equivalent of 4 cups of coffee, however this was 7 hours prior to taking the kava.
While the caffeine may have still been in my system, I was no longer feeling the effects of it.

I usually don't drink caffeine and kava on the same day. But what I was actually trying to do was use the kava to help me sleep, since I figured all that caffeine would keep me awake all night.

Is it possible the caffeine could have interacted with the kava, causing a terrible headache, even though they were 7 hours apart ? Possibly a dehydration effect from the caffeine, producing a hangover-like effect with the kava ?
Or could I be sensitive to this new strain I had never used before ?
Or something else, possibly ?
I hoped to get feedback, because I'd like to either avoid the strain, or the caffeine combo, depending on the culprit, so this doesn't happen again

D

Deleted User01

You sound like me, 4 cups of coffee in the morning. I have on occasion gotten a headachey feeling with Kava but it was due more to the stress of the day than anything. Some members report that high kavain (heady kavas) can give them headaches and I imagine it can go the other way too. So would you say you switched from one type to another? (heady vs heavy)

evrnd

Kava Enthusiast