What's new

Skin issues, help!!!

wolf

hi folks,

I am fairly new to kava and want to share my experiences. So I bought the Vanuatu Sample Set from @Global Kava Exports and made some trials with it. My first experiences were with Malekula Magic, which worked finde for me. I took it 5-6 times and always got proper effects. When I tried the Kaolik for the first time, a few hours later I started to get hives all around my torso. I stopped the kava, but it still went worse. Yesterday I went to a doctor, which injected me cortison. Do you have any hints for me?

My preperation method was tosh and wash. I really recommend everybody to do a proper preperation and NEVER tosh and wash.

Best regards,
wolf

Attachments

Last edited:
D

Deleted User01

Well you hit the nail on the head, Toss and Wash does bring out the worst symptoms that Kava has to offer. So strain your kava next time Maybe double strain it. Take a few doses. If you still get hives, then either try another strain or just give it up. I think @Kapmcrunk used to say that some benadryl might help but not if you have to take it everday. Good luck!

wolf

Thank you Deleted User01. I use Benadryl, it helps a bit against the itch.

It seems that it gets a bit better. My nose is not swollen so hard anymore, and the hives are not so red anymore. Everytime I am exposed to the sun, it gets worse immediately.

I wait until the symptoms are completely gone, then think about to try kava again.

The Kap'n

The Groggy Kaptain (40g)
KavaForums Founder
@wolf we have seen some people with a mild allergy to kava. Their symptoms are precisely what you've shown in your picture. Benadryl helps, but toss and wash can be a big culprit. I'll echo Deleted User01. Try a different strain and also use traditional prep or instant.

wolf

Thanks Kap´m.
Maybe I am allergic to Kaolik? I used Malekula Magic, Pentecost Pride, instant kava and kava candies before and never had any issues.