What's new

This new kava killed my skin

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michael1011

Kava Curious
I've been drinking fijian kava for a few years. I get the exact same strain, same bag, vendor everything. Last week it was sold out so I tried a different fijian. Its just like my personal favorite, but much stronger and the powder isn't as course. Its very strong. I can drink a third to half of the volume. However after a week of this my kava derma is at an all-time high. The creams that were helping before aren't helping now. Its not 100% noble. The other stuff I've been drinking for years is. I'm hoping this will break in and make me more tolerant in the future. I use kava for recreation and medicinally. A few trivial questions for any other heavy users

Do you have to periodically switch creams, as the one you were using before becomes less effective?
Do you take breaks?
Whats your worst case of dermo? Mine is at an all time high and I can post some pictures. A little embarrassed to go out in public. I look like I've been baking in the sun for a week.

Groggy

Kava aficionado
Admin
I'm a lightweight (or white belt as we say in Fiji) compared to others on here and drink kava infrequently. However when I used to drink it often, I never got dermo and I put it down to taking breaks. One week out of every month without yaqona worked for me.
I'm the same way, my first couple years maybe a bit longer, I was a daily drinker, with the usual dermo breaks every 1-2 months. Due in part to rising kava prices as well day to day responsibilities, I've cut back to weekends, with the occasional weekend off. I haven't had any dermo in well over 6 months.

Groggy

Kava aficionado
Admin
I’m starting to suspect that another reason I don’t get dermo any more is my rule of never drinking the same kava twice in a row. I have one to two dozen different kavas I rotate through, with s few more as rare treats.