What's new

Kava Physiology Can't drink coffee any more?

hitsuzen

Kava Curious
I've been drinking kava daily for 6 months now and find that I can't drink coffee any more. It keeps me jittery and awake for 14 or more hours. In fact, I'm awake right now because of coffee I drank this morning. I Googled this and found that kava inhibits the CYP1A2 enzyme which is responsible for metabolizing caffeine. So my question is, does anyone else have increased sensitivity to caffeine since they started drinking kava?

(Several more enzymes are affected according to the first link, for instance CYP2C9 which metabolizes ibuprofen and other drugs. They're listed in the first link and are interesting to examine. Kava could in fact affect the metabolism of hundreds of drugs and might be worth mentioning during your visits to the doctor. :happy:)

Cheers! :D

Edward

Aluballin' in the UK
Kava Vendor
I've had trouble drinking caffeine for years and I put it down to relatively high alcohol consumption. Maybe it's a similar mechanism?

Squanch72

Kava Vendor
I stopped drinking coffee as it seems to interfere or clash with kava. Now that I have stopped just one Excedrin Migraine can give me the jitters when I am trying to chase off a headache. I used to take four of them and barely notice the caffeine. I switched to decaf green tea and herbal teas, I don't want anything interfering with my kava.

Last edited:

VictoryRider

Kava Enthusiast
I used to be fairly sensitive to caffeine. Nowadays, I can't get enough of the stuff. I don't drink kava daily though -- only 1-2 times per week,
but have never noticed any caffeine "enhancement" like you mentioned.

Zac Imiola (Herbalist)

Kava Connoisseur