What's new

A colonial newspaper on the difference between Samoan and Hawaiian kava (written in 1916!)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Poivrier

methystified
Very interesting. At first it looked like a colonial pamphlet against kava but then it turned into a praise of "gift of Divine Nature". Looks like a marketing strategy to promote samoan 'ava against hawaiian 'awa.
Nice find, Henry !

Gourmet Hawaiian Kava

Kava Expert
Kava Vendor
How's this for the toss n wash that will inevitably follow the dump-truck delivery?
Great and I have the perfect cup to drink out of. Here it is---

As some of you know I have been woodworking for over 33 years now, I sold my logging business and started my kava business.
Well this picture is of a big Mango bowl I made, it has my daughter outside the bowl and my grand daughter inside the bowl.
I think I can handle a few of these shells of kava. :sleep:
Aloha.

Chris

verticity

I'm interested in things
This is really interesting.
I like the part when it said they sell the kava in San Fransisco for $60-$70 per ton. I will take 100 tons of Hawaiian 'Awa and 100 tons of Samoan kava please. ::tanoa:: I am going to need a bigger tanoa. (y)
Aloha.

Chris
And Samoan kava is "the fancy price of 1s [shilling] per pound" or about 12 cents!

So, apparently Hawaiian 'awa produces a "mournful sodden, hope-killing drunkenness", but can be a useful medicine for "phthisis" [tuberculosis !] whereas Samoan ava is a benign, refreshing beverage. It seems as though this article is written from the perspective of someone actually observing how kava is used in Samoa, referring to something written earlier by a Victorian missionary or someone in Hawaii who saw awa as a devil drink or something.

D

Deleted User01

Great and I have the perfect cup to drink out of. Here it is---

As some of you know I have been woodworking for over 33 years now, I sold my logging business and started my kava business.