What's new

Best kavas for Aluball

superspeedkit

Kava Curious
Long time reader, relatively new member, and first time poster here.
I've been doing traditional prep for a few months and just discovered the magic that is the double Aluball method (magic especially for me since I have 3 kids age 5 and under and no time for anything much less kava prep).
Since that is going to be my mainstay for the foreseeable future, I wanted to get people's experiences with how it performs with different kavas. Here are my notes so far (I prefer heady kavas if you don't notice):
Cactus Kava Lawena: very mild effects compared to trad prep. As someone else has said here, the Cactus grind seems to be too coarse to work well.
BKH Borogu: probably the best results I've had with the Aluball so far. Couldn't detect any drop-off at all. Also didn't notice the slight stomach pain I had with it before.
Squanch Lawena: Very happy with the effects and super smooth, mellow taste too. No noticeable drop-off as compared to trad prep.
GHK Mo'i: I got this one after switching to the Aluball, so I can't compare, but it seems to hold up to its reputation as one of the best heady kavas on the market. My first night with it was great, but I made the rookie mistake of taking too much - 8 Tbsp total, which made me nervous and on edge. 2nd night I stuck w 4 Tbsp and the effects weren't too noticeable. I'll try going with 6 for tonight's session.
Also, filling one ball with Squanch and one with BKH Borogu was a great idea.
Bula!

Vladimir Lemon

Kava Curious
I have had similar results with Cactus Kava. Their kava is best left for traditional prep.

I bought some Stone Kava during NAH's holiday sale, and it is the best aluball kava by far. Just 2 tbs is enough to keep me good for several hours. I will definitely be buying more. I've also had good effects with various GHK offerings.

madLyfe

Kava Curious