What's new

Got an infected bug bite......

Status
Not open for further replies.

kilakila

Kava keeps me going.
With a nasty red streak coming from it. Doctor drew a line around it to see if it gets bigger. I'm on 10 days of antibiotics doxycycline -which is the only one I can take. Also upped my dose of diazepam to 2mg after tapering down to 1 mg because anxiety was high due to bite. My question is - anyone know if it's safe to take doxy with kava? Only taking a small shell in the evening. But kinda scared to be taking so much stuff! :(Any recommendations appreciated!

prelohded

Kava Curious
There probably isn't a documented or official answer to your question. I'm a kava noob so someone please correct me if I'm wrong. I know certain types of antibiotics will inhibit your livers ability to process the toxins in alcohol, but I don't know if that has anything even remotely to do with kava consumption. Even so drinking alcohol on those antibiotics will most likely lead to a worse hangover in a worse case scenario. I would say if you are concerned ask your doctor or just refrain from kava for a week or so. Coincidentally I just made a post asking a similar question about kava and drug interactions.

sɥɐʞɐs

Avg. Dosage: 8 Tbsp. (58g)
Review Maestro
It's really a big unknown, if doxycycline utilized certain liver enzymes it could be bad, low dose would be key.
One story isn't enough to base your judgement on, but, Doug the @Kavasseur was taking Doxy while in the peace corps in the south pacific and drank kava daily with it...to no ill effect.

kilakila

Kava keeps me going.
Thanks guys. Definitely won't be opening the red wine any time soon! And as I'm super-sensitive to all meds, I'll sadly and reluctantly leave the kava alone until the ten days are done. Meh. Perhaps I might pop a kava candy once in a while!

Bubba Bula

krunkadelic relic