What's new

Hello from another newbie.

Hello all. Another newbie here. .
Familiar story I'm sure. Anxiety and depression. I was being prescribed Xanax, and boy do I love that stuff. But for obvious reasons I can't keep taking it. Haven't had any for years now. I find myself drinking a bit more. Not excessively, but I realise I'm doing it for the effect, not the enjoyment.

Tried Kava for the first time tonight. I bought one of those ball strainers with a shaker, and some Waka Kava powder? Had two 3/4 "balls".

Bit disappointed that other than a numb tongue, I've felt nothing. Do I need to do something else? Will if just take multiple "sessions"? Thanks for your help.

The Kap'n

The Groggy Kaptain (40g)
KavaForums Founder
Familiar story I'm sure. Anxiety and depression. I was being prescribed Xanax, and boy do I love that stuff. But for obvious reasons I can't keep taking it. Haven't had any for years now. I find myself drinking a bit more. Not excessively, but I realise I'm doing it for the effect, not the enjoyment.

Tried Kava for the first time tonight. I bought one of those ball strainers with a shaker, and some Waka Kava powder? Had two 3/4 "balls".

Bit disappointed that other than a numb tongue, I've felt nothing. Do I need to do something else? Will if just take multiple "sessions"? Thanks for your help.
Welcome!!

It very well may take multiple sessions of getting after it to start feeling it. This is known as the phenomenon of "initial tolerance". There really is not a very good explanation as to why some people see this, and others don't, but it seems to be understood among many kava drinkers that first timers need a big dose to feel it.

faldho

Kava Curious
welcome!
When i was new i didn't feel anything at first too. What i did was drink a portion everyday until I got past the tolerance, it took me about 9 days and I feel it every time now!