What's new

I Quit Drinking Kava until liver function test. Update:bloodwork is normal

Status
Not open for further replies.

euphoricme

Kava Curious
So, firstly I want to tell you guys that I am not trying to scare you away from drinking Kava. Many of you have been dirnking Kava for many years without any problems and I see no reason why you should not continue to do so. Also, as far as I was able to tell from my research actual liver problems among Kava users are so rare that you should not be discouraged from trying it if you are reading this article and are new to Kava (in my opinion).

I had been drinking Kava for about 6 months to varying degrees of regularity. The past 2 months I had been hitting the Kava pretty damned hard. The main root I was using was Stone, but I was also using Wow and from Kalm I was drinking Pouni Onu and Loa Waka. My increased consumption can be traced back to my purchase of an Alu Ball (its just too easy...). I was drinking 2-3 "heaping Alu Balls" (probably like 4 tablespoonsish?) a day, occasionally a bit more on a weekend or something.

About 3 weeks ago I started getting some dull stomach aches under my rib cage on the right side. I have aches and pains all over (bricklayer...) so I wasn't too concerned about it at first. It slowly got worse to the point where it was pretty consistent and annoying. I put the Kava down for a few days and it seemed to subside. Now, I'm not sure what made me start drinking Kava again after I seemed to have found that it was causing me liver pain - but I did. After a 3-4 day break I started hitting the Stone again. The next day I woke up with more pain, I had trouble falling asleep that night as it was so painful.

Today I am about a week out from not drinking Kava. The pain has almost completely subsided. I should also note that I had no other symptoms of liver-failure (no jaundice, no fatigue, etc - just undeniable pain from my liver)