What's new

Kava Physiology Kava and ADHD?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Krunkonaut

The life of a kavaholic
I've been drinking kava for a couple of years now. I originally started using kava as an alternative for Xanax which was prescribed for my panic/anxiety disorder. I only wanted to use Xanax for real emergencies such as panic attacks since back then they were occurring about twice a week and I didn't want to take it more than twice a week, surely at an age of 16. Having kava to relieve the immense stress I was under during the week felt amazing since I was feeling detached from reality because of it. I just recently realized everything that all of my anxiety is based on my ADHD. I'm highly sensitive but also need to find stimulation and my brain just never shuts up so having something that can wash my physical anxiety away, shut up my brain, makes me learn to appreciate and just be in the moment is something I can never express my gratitude to. I see kava as something that reconnects me to my body and the earth. It truly has helped me grow, has learned me a lot about self-reflection and self-care. Because kava has made me more grounded I could finally reclaim the attention stolen by my brain which was fed to the thousands of endless chaotic thoughts and put it in good use for the moment. It makes me more connected to my surroundings and friends which I can often forget.