What's new

kava hangover?

bula

Hi Guys I have been a lurker of the forum for many years going back to the kava lounge forum. I have been drinking kava for about 4 years now and it has been a great experience for me. While reading the forums I noticed overall nobody seems to experience a kava "hangover" quite like I do. Almost every morning after drinking kava (3-5 times a week) I wake up feeling nauseous and extremely tired. Some days I am able to shake it off and go about my day but others it's a real struggle to get through the day. This is the only negative part of my experience with kava. Most post I have read on the forum has described the next day effects as positive if any next day effects are felt.

Has anybody else experienced these same after effects? If so have you found a way to fix it?

B

BulaKavaMan

Hi there, Bula. Welcome. Two things: Kava is a diuretic, so it is important to drink a lot of water in a good kava session, especially if you spend much of your time in a little less than super hydrated state like so many people do. Second, you may just be extra sensitive to some of the kavalactones that linger a little longer. Try instead something with more kavain. Maybe a good Fijian like our Waka, or a more uplifting Vanuatu kava such as our Borogu. Hope that helps. Feel free to send us a message if you have any questions about our kava, or kava in general for that matter.

bula

Hi guys thank you for the quick responses. Currently I am drinking the amazon kava (strictly) for price reasons. I have tried just about every kava from nakamalathome and have the same issues.