What's new

Makas? Or even Tudei?

Status
Not open for further replies.

EM81

Kava Curious
After having had a go at the Kava King Vanuatu blend, i got stomach problems, which I stll have 48 hours later. This is a shame, as I really enjoyed both the taste, convenience and effect of this kava. Now, being a newbie, I grant that my stomach reaction may be due to me being just that, and not exactly knowing how I react. But as some on the forum have suggetsted, it might also be due to Kava King including makas in the powder, or even tudei.

I would really appreciate if @Kavaking would once and for all confirm whether you include makas in the micro, or if there is tudei in your kava.

chandra

Kava Enthusiast
My assumption is its probably makas. If you really like micro, I would suggest either Kalm with Kava or Gourmet Hawaiin Kava because they remove the makas before grinding. If you want to go with a cheap kava, I would get a medium grind so at least you know the makas are strained out. Vanatu has made it illegal to sell tudei kava, and it is associated more with extreme sedation that lasts for the next day or two. Tudei actually comes from the phrase "two day". Cheaper vendors (which Kava King is) are more likely to skip the step of removing the makas due to the time and loss of volume involved.

verticity

I'm interested in things
They posted details about their process a while ago. They do not separate the makas, but they grind everything up very finely. I don't think it is tudei, though.. Some people (like me) just have stomach issues with micronized: even with GHK micronized where I know the makas are removed, I get severe, painful gas.. So I just don't drink micronized. Filtering it might help (use an 80 micron nut milk bag, or double layered pantyhose).

verticity

I'm interested in things