What's new

Mid-session blahs (the three phases of a kava session)

tbobe6924

Before I ask my question...for context here, I have been drinking kava for several years and have been there, done that as far as experimenting with all the various preparation types and using different varieties and chemotypes of kava, etc etc. What I am going to describe is universal (for me) regardless of the prep, the variety, the strength, etc.

SO, I do long sesh pretty much every evening starting about 5pm or so, and usually wrapping up around 10-11pm. I do the standard 4oz shells spaced out about 20 minutes apart, although this varies depending on how hard the kava is slapping at any point, but never less than 20 minutes between shells. Generally what I experience almost every night is the same pattern...it starts off nice. Th first hour or two are a pleasant, relaxing, slightly euphoric phase. Next comes what I described in the title of the thread, the dreaded "mid-session blahs". This lasts maybe an hour or so, and it is not terrible by any means, but just a phase where the effects are just a very slight "fuzzy head" feeling, but absolutely zero relaxation or euphoria. Finally, if I power through this phase, the pleasant effects finally kick back in strongly...my favorite part of the evening. I am not a fan of drinking kava to the intoxication point (aka krunk), so that is not what I am describing, it is just a stronger version of the initial phase. I honestly wish I could skip the first two phases and go right to this one, but aside from drinking a ton at once and getting sick I don't think that is possible.

SO for anyone who slogged through my rambling post, I am wondering if anyone else who does longer sessions experiences a similar pattern, and if so, has anyone figured out how to make their session more consistent? I realize this stuff is notoriously fickle, so maybe it just is what it is - which is fine, but I am curious what others think.

Edward

Aluballin' in the UK