What's new

New to Kava suggestions on strain.

Buldar

I'm totally new to Kava. Tried instant packs for a couple of weeks to test the waters then made my first real batch today.
I'm interested in kava to help ease my anxiety which is causing debilitating tightness throughout my back, shoulders and neck. I went with Kalm Borongoru for the heavy recommendation.
My problem is although is helped with my back it knocked me out almost immediately.
Should I look at other strains? Smaller dose?
I'd like to be able to use it all day to help with this pain.
Thanks.

The Kap'n

The Groggy Kaptain (40g)
KavaForums Founder
I'm totally new to Kava. Tried instant packs for a couple of weeks to test the waters then made my first real batch today.
I'm interested in kava to help ease my anxiety which is causing debilitating tightness throughout my back, shoulders and neck. I went with Kalm Borongoru for the heavy recommendation.
My problem is although is helped with my back it knocked me out almost immediately.
Thanks.
Welcome! Borongoru is classically sedative. If you're sticking with kalm with kava, I would suggest giving the Pouni Ono a shot. It's a much less sedative kava.

Buldar

Thanks. I'm not particular to Kalm with Kava, just the only one I could find with decent explanations on different strains.

Szafirek

Kava Curious
Thanks.
If you want to drink kava all day long, I recommend it much more diluted than usually suggested. The consumption of a beverage with a large volume and without excessive strength can be conveniently spread over many hours.
I would recommend Borogu variety. It has great soothing and anxiolytic properties and is not too heavy. I also recommend trying the mentioned by Kapmcrunk Pouni Ono. The mixture of the two previously mentioned kavas also has great effects.

Last edited:

nabanga

Kava Enthusiast