What's new

Any way to make kava taste better?

Hi, I am very new to Kava; this is actually my 3rd day using it and so far I like the effects, but not the taste. I mean really, Kava root powder is probably one of the most disgusting things I have ever eaten, both in texture and taste. I thought I would be able to be tough and chug it down but it turns out I really need to figure out a way to make this stuff bearable. I gag when I drink it. :(

What I have tried so far is to mix water and soy lecithin, and then add Kava powder. Then mix it in a blender, then strain that through a wire strainer. Finally I take the goop in the strainer and squeeze it out with a cheese cloth to get all the juice out. The final product does not have chunks in it, but still taste disgusting. I have tried adding chocolate powder, cinnamon, and cocoa, but it really does not help.

Any advice on how to make a decent Kava drink?

uuku pi

Kava Enthusiast
I think the best flavor fixer (for me) has been the addition of liquid creamer. I use french vanilla from Aldi ..but I believe any french vanilla would work. One time I added some Propel by mistake ...and it took the evil edge off. Sometimes it tastes good to me,but only if I have not done any for awhile and I am desperate to feel like I can get along with the humans who inhabit my area. Hope this helps. Have drunk a little borogu and a little fu'u today. The last few shells needed french vanilla.:)

Prince Philip

Duke of Edinborogu
Retire the cheesecloth. Paradise and Kule'a both sell really nice Fijian strainer bags. Realkava.com also sells functionally equivalent strainer bags, but they lack the visual artistry.

Remember, you can always add more water. As many of my neurological peers on here will tell people, taste is often not a big deal compared to texture.

Sent from my DROID4 using Yuku app

kl.Atreides

Kava Curious