What's new

GSL Technology Kava pills, Gaia Capsules, etc. for insomnia?

sumguy

Kava Enthusiast
I am new to Kava (and new to this site) and thought I'd give these a try, since they're so inexpensive. These are marketed on Amazon as "Kava Kava Muscle Relaxant and Sleep Aid." I bought a pack of 30 pills for $5.10. They are 500 mg tablets, and 1-2 are recommended to help you sleep. I've been having problems with insomnia, and have been using (in rotation) melatonin, 3 different antihistamines, and have also tried valerian (which didn't help) and chamomile (which seemed to make me restless). I've had a lot of anxiety for the last few months, so what I've read about Kava seems to make it a natural fit.

These pills do seem to work, at least for my purposes. The 3 times I've taken them, they've helped me sleep. They say they are made from whole Kava roots, but don't say what the kavalactone content is. So I sent an e-mail to the company, and was told it is 4%, which I guess means 20 mg per pill. So my 2 pill dose is only 40 mg.

Any opinions on these? They do have mixed reviews:
Amazon product

Last edited:

sumguy

Kava Enthusiast
So... Does this seem like it's at least a safe form of kava, or should I be looking for something better? And on nights when I've taken an antihistamine, and it doesn't seem to be enough, is it safe to take kava (or vice versa - kava first and then something else)? How about with melatonin?

The Kap'n

The Groggy Kaptain (40g)
KavaForums Founder
I would be wary of kava pill products. A rule of thumb that I go by, is that if the product doesn't provide with a strain designation, or even attempt to convey that the product is made with noble kavas I would stay away. 40mg of kavalactones is a very small amount. Traditionally made kava can range anywhere from 250mg to a gram of kavalactones per serving! (depending on the type of kava, and amount used to make the traditional drink)