What's new

Help me drink my kava!

Seamyb88

Kava Curious
I am a beginner. Having waited an excruciatingly long time to get it delivered to the UK, I'm afraid to drink it: the taste is (apologies if I offend) disgusting. Even mixing it was too much for me. I did, however, manage to neck enough of it to feel a mild, but definite, intoxication.

I'm a recovering alcoholic and I must have this plant in my life. Any suggestions for getting rid of, or used to, the taste?

Bula!

The Kap'n

The Groggy Kaptain (40g)
KavaForums Founder
I am a beginner. Having waited an excruciatingly long time to get it delivered to the UK, I'm afraid to drink it: the taste is (apologies if I offend) disgusting. Even mixing it was too much for me. I did, however, manage to neck enough of it to feel a mild, but definite, intoxication.

I'm a recovering alcoholic and I must have this plant in my life. Any suggestions for getting rid of, or used to, the taste?

Bula!
You'll find yourself among many here (myself included) with issues of past various chemical dependency.

If you don't want to taste it at all, here's what you do:
Chill it down. The colder the kava, the less you'll taste. Every night I drank kava was a battle in the past for me. Once you chill it, drink it all in one go while not breathing through your nose. Rinse your mouth out with water really thoroughly (while still not breathing through your nose) and you will taste very little to no kava.

yiki

Kava Enthusiast
As long as you do not gag immediatly, you can drink it.
Otherwise, mixing it with orange juice seems to work very well. I rarely do it because i want to get it over with quickly

N

Noname

use less water and quickly drink it then have apple juice after or mango or something that's not acidic no lemon orange or pineapple juice. You'll get used to the Taste lol

Edward

Aluballin' in the UK
Kava Vendor