What's new

Hi all - Newbie here with a question!

Nola111

Kava Curious
Hello all, I'm very glad to have found this forum. I first tried Kava a few weeks ago via one of these little vials of "Kava Extract" I bought off Amazon. Boy I wish I would have discovered this forum before making that purchase!

I'm going to be placing my first order for the real stuff from Gourmet Hawaiian Kava shortly. I would like to know if someone can explain to me the difference between Instant, Micronized, and Medium Grind, and which you would recommend for a first-time user of real kava.

Thanks!

The Kap'n

The Groggy Kaptain (40g)
KavaForums Founder
Hello all, I'm very glad to have found this forum. I first tried Kava a few weeks ago via one of these little vials of "Kava Extract" I bought off Amazon. Boy I wish I would have discovered this forum before making that purchase!

I'm going to be placing my first order for the real stuff from Gourmet Hawaiian Kava shortly. I would like to know if someone can explain to me the difference between Instant, Micronized, and Medium Grind, and which you would recommend for a first-time user of real kava.

Thanks!
Welcome! Glad to have you with us :)

Instant Kava (Just add water)
Instant kava is kava which is produced from the dehydration of prepared powdered Kava. Either fresh kava juice, or prepared root that has gone through the traditional dry powdered prep is used. This is not to be confused with micronized kava which is simply the root stock which has been ground to a very fine consistency. The resulting Kava is mixed with water and consumed without the need for straining or any type of traditional preparation methods.

Micronized (also referred to as "micro) (Just add water, but is more gritty)