What's new

Kava and Memory

infraredz

BULA!
For those who use kava medicinally daily do you notice any relation between memory and kava? I personally have found its mildly impaired my memory at times, although it seems this is mostly with higher DHM strains.

Does anyone have experience with memory impairment or difficulty with memory recall?

Has anyone had experiences using kava while taking a class, especially one that's memory-intensive?

The Kap'n

The Groggy Kaptain (40g)
KavaForums Founder
I can't speak for the class part, but I've been drinking for almost 8 years now and I can spit off a 12 digit string of numbers and letters while drinking kava and before just the same. It seems my ability to remember is not that impaired by kava, but I did kinda screw up the possibilities of a clean slate when it comes to memory recall due to my reckless past with chemicals. I could have horrible memory and I just don't realize it because I'm comfortable in my forgetful skin :)

infraredz

BULA!
Indeed, I guess I should always take into account my past mistakes as far as my memory is concerned. I was just curious about the possibility that there might be some sort of state-dependent learning going on or something.

The Kap'n

The Groggy Kaptain (40g)
KavaForums Founder
I did notice one thing. I think short-term memory can be slightly affected. Every night when I'm all kavad up when I set my alarm I usually will shoot up in bed like 30 minutes later to check to make sure I set my alarm. If I make a mental note to remember that I set my alarm this won't happen. It seems like automatic functions become even more automatic when kava is involved. I'll be sure to keep a close eye on it to see if I can pinpoint other specific examples.

P

pitshack