What's new

Micronized vs instant

Status
Not open for further replies.

kavagirl37

Kava Curious
Which is better? I am patiently waiting on my 11 year waka order but now want to place some more orders. I am a beginner and don't want to do the kneading and prep. So which is better for effects? Thanks

Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk

The Kap'n

The Groggy Kaptain (40g)
KavaForums Founder
Which is better? I am patiently waiting on my 11 year waka order but now want to place some more orders. I am a beginner and don't want to do the kneading and prep. So which is better for effects? Thanks

Micronized will be a bit stronger due to consuming the ground whole root (minus macas in some instances), and instant is easier to drink with less stomach and intestinal discomfort.

Bula Kava House

Portland, OR
Kava Vendor
Kava Bar Owner

Hey there. Were you able to get your 11 Year order in before we sold out? We ran out a few days ago but hope to get restocked soon.

To answer your question, it's important to know the difference between micro and instant. Micronized kava is extremely finely ground kava root. When it's done right, it stays pretty well suspended in water but won't dissolve. Our instant kava is done by taking the fresh, undried kava root, grinding it, and doing a water extraction. The resulting super potent kava liquid is then dehydrated. It's an expensive and time consuming process, but our instant can't be beat.

You should try both. As @Kapmcrunk pointed out, they have different features. I personally prefer instant because ours tastes like you're drinking kava made from fresh root, which is nearly impossible over here on the mainland US. The 11 Year Waka is our biggest seller though. You really can't get a better quality micro, especially when considering the cost.