What's new

Kona kava 55% Kavalactone paste , good or bad?

txella

Hi, I’m new to the kava world. I’ve taken the capsules and they did nothing for me, so I ordered Kona kava 55% Kavalactone paste. I took two separate doses (each were an eighth of a teaspoon) and felt nothing. The paste was rock hard when I received it. I emailed the company and they said this last batch was just really hard but it was still good kava. I’m aware of reverse tolerance, but I’m also wondering if this is just bad kava because I’ve read some bad reviews on Amazon. Does anyone else have experience with this particular kava? Thanks! :)

Jacob Bula

Nobody
In general, people on this forum (myself included), are going to recommend traditional medium-grind kava. Kavalactone extracts are not kava. Kava is the prepared drink which is sort of like a cold water, mechanical extraction of the full-spectrum kavalactones and flavonoids of the plant. Others have said its like comparing caffeine pills to a coffee. I don't have any personal experience with extracts other than Yogi Kava tea which is mediocre, so others may have more insight on recommending those. If you are interested in kava, I recommend getting some medium grind kava root powder, a strainer bag, and some water and trying it the way that it has been enjoyed for 3000+ years.

Zaphod

Kava Lover
(y) what he said....extracts are different. They have never given me the same kava feel as a good grog. They tend to be heady with out much body. I feel like the are also very short lived.

AlexisReal

Kava Enthusiast
@txella welcome here (man?).

The above advice from @Jacob Bula is spot on, according to the basic understanding I have acquired.

What @Zaphod correctly points out above, is how even very good kava extracts, are more heady than bodily.

Now normally, I see a pro in that, as an option.

But to me, I alays say, do something properly.

Extracts are not the real kava experience.