What's new

Numbawan Authenticity

Status
Not open for further replies.

skippykava

Kava Curious
@Judd Rench I have a concern of Numbawan authenticity. I bought my first order to sample Numbawan and it was good. I then made a large order of Numbawan and found it to be totally different than the first order.

The color of the first order was good. It had a noticeable yellow to the root and when made into drink it produced a nice yellow batch with good effects. When I obtained the second order it was not noticeably yellow and when made into a drink it did not have good effects and the water was not yellow, but instead dark brown.

Below is the good first order where you can see the nice yellow color. It also produced kava effects when drank.

Below you can see the second order. It did not have a nice yellow to it and was instead dark brown. It did not produce kava effects when drank.

The difference in color and effects from drinking were night and day.

Last edited:

verticity

I'm interested in things
I drink Nambawan, and it is generally not yellow. It is coffee-with-cream color like any other kava. Skippy did mention he used a 10 micron filter bag, which is incredibly small. It looks likes the kavalactone resin is being squeezed out and nothing else. The small mesh bag may account for the seeming lack of potency.

sɥɐʞɐs

Avg. Dosage: 8 Tbsp. (58g)
Review Maestro
Outside of the lack of yellowish silt in the 2nd pic, it doesn't look much different to me.
These two preps would have to be done identically the same way to really judge...same time, same amount, same method, same strainer.