What's new

Please help...

IloveKava23

Kava Curious
Hello, I've been consuming kava every day for about 8 months- a year. About 5 months ago my skin was turning red on my hands and was getting really dry around my knuckles. I didn't think much of it. 5 months later and it's got bad. I am going to the doctor to see what he thinks but can anyone please tell me if this is dermopathy from heavy kava usage. For the last month i have slowed down usage alot but but have stopped for now because of how bad it is making my hand look (if it is the kava) Thank you for your time friends.

D

Deleted User01

Lay off the kava for at least a week and make sure you are drinking plenty of water. When I was a kid, I used to get the same thing that you describe on my knuckles. They weren't just red though, they looked scaly and cracked. I used to put noxema skin creme on them. I have been fortunate in that Kava doesn't give me dermopathy. But then again, I never needed kava to get it anyway. Go figure ...

p.s Dang, now you got me looking at my knuckles again. Nope they're ok. :D

Zaphod

Kava Lover
Very likely it is the dreaded dermo. When mine got bad a few months ago I laid off the kava for ~3 weeks. It took about 10-15 days before the dermo was completely gone. It may even get worse (mine did) for a few days after stopping.

Travis

Kava Enthusiast
I'm not sure if I ever had dermo. I've been drinking kava daily for around 6 years. My hands are currently lizard like and in the winter they split open between my fingers. I use corn huskers lotion twic a day and it helps a little bit.

D

Deleted User01

There you go, another guy who gets stuff on their hands only. I'm not sure that Kava Dermo just effects the hands. I also remember my knuckle dermo being rampant in the winter. I would be outside all day playing ball or whatever and that seemed to aggravate it.

marksmyspot

Kava Curious