What's new

Someone got me worried about k***** being mixed with kava... That's not common, right?!

Honolulusurfer88

Kava Curious
hi there everyone. I am a kava lover for a few years now but recently came across this k**** cratomm(deliberate misspelling) stuff. It sounds too much like bad news for my taste so naturally I figure I will steer clear of it. But it made me really anxious when I read somewhere around here that sometimes kava vendors mix the two? I only buy kava from the vendors on this forum, so I'm assumimg I am only getting some pure kava. I was just hoping for a bit of clarity on whether the mixing stories are real or exaggerated? I only want to be drinking kava, basically! I have been using the ground up root for a few years so I figure if I'm getting some chopped up leaves in it, it will immediate send off a red flag in my brain. But overall the idea worried me. Im a bit of a worrier, that's why I love kava! Anyway, thank you so much for your help!!

verticity

I'm interested in things
The vendors on this forum do not put krat in their kava. I have never heard of any online vendor doing that. The problem is with some kava bars, such as Kavasutra, that sell drinks containing both krat and kava. This is apparently especially a problem in Florida kava bars. Note Bula Kava House in Portland and Melo Melo in Berkeley do not sell krat; Unfortunately they seem to be in the minority among US kava bars.

Bula Kava House

Portland, OR
Kava Vendor
Kava Bar Owner
From a vendor's perspective, you're safe. Even if a vendor didn't have the moral compass to know not to mix other products into their kava without making it clear, mixing krat into kava simply doesn't make sense because pound for pound it is much more expensive and you'd need to put quite a bit in for a noticeable effect.