What's new

Kava and Taste

Amarone

Kava Curious
I am struggling to get Kava down as I find the taste particularly offensive. I have tried masking the taste with varying degrees of success. The idea was to take Kava for anxiety but ironically I get anxious at the thought of taking it

Practically I need to source Kava that is easier to chug down but is still potent. The added complication is that I'm based in the UK so my options are limited to the following suppliers

Kava Kauia/realkava.com
Bula Kava House
Kalm with Kava
Kavafied
thekavaroots.com

As a newbie I have no terms of reference and don't know how my Kava rates in terms of taste compared to others on the market. I am using Kavafied Supreme. Just to note I also have micronised Pouni Oro, Borogu and Fiji Loa Waka from KWK. While I sampled them after they arrived, I am not using them regularly as it's a more expensive option while I appear to be experiencing RT.

I would welcome some helpful suggestions.

Kojo Douglas

The Kavasseur
This is one of those barriers that makes it difficult for people to benefit from Kava.

However, I think I can possibly help if you answer this: what about Kava makes you gag or not want to drink it? Is it the peppery flavor, the dirt flavor? How thick and viscous are you making your Kava? Are you making it so thick that it is offensive when you take it down?

Most people who can't get over the flavor cope better with "soft" Fijian or Tongan varieties. One particularly tasty Kava is @Kava Time "Lawena." Also, I would avoid micronized Kava if you don't like the taste. I love the taste of Kava, but I still have a hard time with micronized!

meadeam

Kava Curious